Press Releases

Presentation of certificates to participants in the ECOWAS young professional internship programme

16 Jul, 2019

Abuja, 16 July 2019. Thirty (30) young graduates from ECOWAS Member States who have completed internship programmes at the Commission, Court of Justice and ECOWAS Resident Representations were presented with their training certificates on 12 July 2019 in Abuja.

Professor Leopoldo Amado, Commissioner for Education, Science and Culture, as chairperson of the 2018 edition of the official presentation of certificates to the participants expressed satisfaction with the successful completion of the training programme which his department coordinated.

In establishing this programme, ECOWAS was spurred by the need to address the challenges of professional training and youth unemployment in West Africa. Prof Amado explained further that the programme is aimed at fostering youth employment and providing a practical learning framework in their areas of university training.  He also proposed the publication of training reports to ensure that the recommendations thereof may contribute to the attainment of ECOWAS objectives.

G-D, M. Mathias Idoko, Aisha Usman, Mme Rachel Ogbe, Prof. Leopoldo Amado, Commissaire, Education, Science et Culture, Dr. Roland Kouakou & Dr. Emile Zida
G-D, Mrs Racheal Ogbe, one intern & Prof. Leopoldo Amado, Commissioner for Education, Science &  Culture


Taking the floor, the participants expressed gratitude to ECOWAS for organising this programme. They observed that the training is an important stage in their career because it marks the beginning of a new era in their professional career.

It would be recalled that the young graduates’ immersion programme was launched in 2017 for youth from Member States between the ages of 20 to 40, who are holders of bachelors, masters or doctorate degree. This is one of the numerous initiatives by the regional bloc aimed at promoting students’ knowledge of ECOWAS, their professional integration and compiling their contribution for better implementation of major ECOWAS programmes.

Member States