Press Releases

ECOWAS Central Banks working group meet on single currency in Abuja

11 Jun, 2019

The Governors of Central Banks of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), who constitute the Central Banks Working Group on the ECOWAS Single currency, meet today, 10th June 2019 in Abuja, Nigeria.

The meeting is aimed at discussing findings of a study commissioned to address key issues confronting the process leading to the establishment of a momentary union in the ECOWAS Region namely: the exchange rate regime, momentary policy framework and the model of the future ECOWAS Central Bank.

While welcoming the Central Bank Governors, Jean-Claude Kassi Brou, the President of the ECOWAS Commission reminded them of their commitment to seek consensus on the outcome of the studies.
President Brou added that expectations are high within the Community and as such the need to double their efforts to put in place all the key pillars that are required for the establishment of the monetary union.

Member States