Twitter Facebook Youtube
ECONEC Elects Dr. Goncalves as new President
R-L Mr. Amadou Ba, Mr. Momarr Alieu Njai, Dr. Maria do Rosario Lopes Pereira Goncalves, Mr. Newton Ahmed Barry, representative of Madam, Jean Mensa, and Professor Mahmood Yakubu

Abuja, 7th August 2019. The ECOWAS Network of Electoral Commissions (ECONEC) at the end of its 6th Biennial General Assembly on the 7th of August 2019 elected Dr. Maria do Rosario Lopes Pereira Goncalves, Chair of CNE of Cabo Verde as the President. She takes over from Professor Mahmood Yakubu, Chairman of INEC Nigeria and will oversee the affairs of ECONEC for the next two years along with the steering committee members.

Other members of the Steering Committee include Mr. Newton Ahmed Barry, Chair of CENI, Burkina Faso as the 1st Vice President, Mr. Momarr Alieu Njai, Chair of IEC The Gambia as 2nd Vice President, Mr. Amadou Ba, Chair CENI, Mali as Treasurer and Madam Jean Mensa, Chair EC Ghana as Deputy Treasurer.
The Permanent Secretary of the Network and the Head of the ECOWAS Electoral Assistance Division (EAD), Mr. Sourou Francis Gabriel Oke, will assist the Steering Committee.

Cross-section of participants

In accordance with the ECONEC Statute, the General Assembly adopted a unanimous resolution conferring the title of Honorary President of ECONEC on Professor Mahmood Yakubu, the immediate past President of ECONEC in recognition of his exemplary leadership and contributions to the promotion of democracy and good governance in the ECOWAS region.

Dr. Goncalves in her acceptance speech committed to fulfilling the responsibilities of ECONEC and improving the electoral process in the region. She commended the outgoing Steering Committee headed by Professor Mahmood Yakubu for a job well done.
The next regular Biennial General Assembly of ECONEC will to take place in Praia, Cabo Verde in 2021.

Share on :

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linkedin Youtube Instgram