

FORTY FIFTH ORDINARY SESSION OF THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT

Accra, 10 -11 July 2014

SUPPLEMENTARY ACT A/SP.5/07/14 RELATING TO THE OFFICIAL AND PUBLIC DECLARATION OF OATH OF OFFICE BY STATUTORY APPOINTEES OF ECOWAS INSTITUTIONS

THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT

MINDFUL of Articles 7, 8, and 9 of the ECOWAS Treaty as amended establishing the Authority of Heads of State and Government and defining its composition and functions;

MINDFUL of Articles 10 and 69 of the said ECOWAS Treaty that gives the Council of Ministers the responsibility of approving the Organisational Structure of ECOWAS Institutions as well as issues relating to Administration and Personnel Management;

MINDFUL of New Article 18 paragraph 3 of the Supplementary Protocol A/SP.1/06/06 amending the Revised ECOWAS Treaty which empowers the Council of Ministers to appoint Statutory Appointees with the exception of the President of the ECOWAS Commission and the Judges of the Community Court of Justice;

RECALLING the categorisation of the Statutory Appointees under Article 3 of the ECOWAS Staff Regulations of 2005 as staff members appointed in compliance with Article 18 of the ECOWAS Treaty of 1993 as amended;

ALSO RECALLING that Statutory Appointees refer to the Heads and Deputy Heads of ECOWAS Institutions;

RECALLING the recruitment rules of the Community as contained in the said 2005 Staff Regulations that all staff of the Community must subscribe to an oath of Office;



MINDFUL of New Article 18 of the Supplementary Protocol A/SP.1/06/06 amending the Revised Treaty of 1993 which provides that the President and other Commissioners of the ECOWAS Commission shall prior to assumption of office subscribe to a public oath of office to be administered by the President of the Community Court of Justice before the Authority of Heads of State and Government and the Council of Ministers respectively;

WISHING to ensure that all other Statutory Appointees also subscribe publicly to an oath of office because of the nature and status of their positions in the Institutions of the Community;

ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the Seventy Second Session of the Council of Ministers which took place in Accra, Ghana, from 19th to 20th June 2014;

AGREES AS FOLLOWS

Article 1:

All Statutory Appointees in ECOWAS Institutions shall subscribe to a public Declaration of their oaths of office.

Article 2:

The procedure for the public declaration of oath of office referred to in Article 1 of this Decision shall be as follows:

- a) The President of the ECOWAS Commission whose oath of office is to be administered by the President of the Community Court of Justice, shall take the said oath at a session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government;
- b) The Judges of the Community Court of Justice shall take their oaths of office either at a session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government or in the presence of the Chairman of Authority;



c) All other Statutory Appointees of Community Institutions shall take their oath of office at a session of the Council of Ministers and such oath shall be administered by the President of the Community Court of Justice.

ARTICLE 3: ENTRY INTO FORCE

- 1. This Supplementary Act shall enter into force upon signature. Consequently the signatory Member States and ECOWAS Institutions undertake to start implementing its provisions upon its entry into force.
- This Supplementary Act shall be attached as an Annex to the ECOWAS Treaty of which it is an integral part.

ARTICLE 4: PUBLICATION

This Supplementary Act shall be published by the Commission in the Official Journal of the Community within thirty (30) days of the date of its signing by the Chairman of Authority. It shall also be published by each Member State in its official Gazette thirty (30) days after the notification by the Commission.

ARTICLE 5: DEPOSITORY AUTHORITY

This Supplementary Act shall be deposited with the Commission, which shall transmit certified copies thereof to all the Member States and shall ensure its registration with the African Union, the United Nations Organization and any other organization designated by the Council.

IN FAITH WHEREOF WE, THE HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES, HAVE SIGNED THIS SUPPLEMENTARY ACT.

DONE AT ACCRA THIS 11TH DAY OF JULY 2014

IN SINGLE ORIGINAL IN THE ENGLISH, FRENCH AND PORTUGUESE LANGUAGES, ALL THREE (3) TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC.



H. E. Thomas Boni YAYI President of the Republic of Benin H. E. Blaise COMPAORE President of Burkina Faso

H.E. Cesar MONTEIRO

Ambassador of the Republic of Cabo Verde to Senegal, For and on behalf of the Prime Minister of the Republic of Cabo Verde

H. E. Alassane OUATTARA President of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire

H. E. Issaitou NJIE

Vice-President of the Republic of the Gambia, For and on behalf of the President of the Republic of the Gambia

H. E. John Dramani MAHAMA President of the Republic of Ghana

Chairman of the Authority of Heads of State and Government

H. E. Lounceny FALL

Senior Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Guineans in the Diaspora. For and on behalf of the President of the Republic of Guinea

H.E. José Mário VAZ President of the Republic of

Guinea-Bissau

H. E. Fren. Joseph Nyumah BOAKAL Vice-President of the Republic of Liberia, For and on behalf of the President of the Republic of Liberia

H. E. Ibrahim Boubacar KEITA President of the Republic of Mali

H. E. Mahamadou ISSOUFOU President of the Republic of Niger H. E. Goodluck Ebele JONATHAN, GCFR President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal

ufixulan

Republic of Nigeria



H.E. Macky SALL
President of the Republic of Senegal

H.E. Ernest Bai KOROMA

President of the Republic of
Sierra Leone

H.E. Faure Essozimna GNASSINGBE President of the Togolese Republic