Twitter Facebook Youtube
Title of Commander of the National Order of Cote d’Ivoire conferred on Outgoing ECOWAS Commission President

The outgoing ECOWAS Commission President Kadré Désiré Ouédraogo was on Thursday 17 March 2016 conferred with the title of Commander of the National Order of Cote d’Ivoire in Abidjan by the Ivorian Grand Chancellor of the Order, Mrs. Henriette Dagri Diabaté.

Mrs. Diabaté considered the distinction as the apogee of the numerous initiatives undertaken by Mr. Ouédraogo in the consolidation and upliftment of the sub-regional organization.

The Ivorian Grand Chancellor of the National Order particularly commended the awardee’s commitment and effective management of the recent crises in West Africa.

«You are among the architects of this great project and you brought your rich experience to bear on the consolidation of ECOWAS, including your economic astuteness as Deputy BECEAO Governor on the one hand, and political statesmanship on the other hand, as well as your negotiating skills as a diplomat. This is a great achievement for which Côte d’Ivoire has delight in honouring you », Mrs. Diabaté pointed out.

Kadré Désiré Ouédraogo said he was privileged to be admitted to the National Order of Côte d’Ivoire and thanked the Government and people of that country for the award, which he dedicated to the staff of the ECOWAS institutions.Pic.19DSC_7903

The distinction was conferred on Mr. Ouédraogo four days after the terrorist attacks were perpetrated in Grand Bassam. He seized the occasion to reaffirm the regional organization’s sympathy and support to the Ivorian people, while recalling that the ECOWAS counter-terrorism strategy, currently under implementation was adopted in Yamoussoukro, Côte d’Ivoire in February 2013.

The Ivorian Grand Chancellor of the National Order Mrs. Henriette Dagri Diabaté began the ceremony by calling for a minute’s silence in memory of the innocent victims of those attacks.

It is worth recalling that it was in Abidjan on Wednesday 24 February 2016 during the farewell visit the outgoing ECOWAS Commission President paid to the Ivorian Head of State Alassane Ouattara, that the latter promised to honour him at a later date with the National Order of Côte d’Ivoire.

The Ivorian President seized the occasion to commend Mr. Ouédraogo for his invaluable contribution to the regional integration process during his four-year tenure at the helm of the ECOWAS Commission.

Appointed in February 2012, Mr. Ouédraogo succeeded Ghanaian diplomat James Victor Gbeho and assumed office as ECOWAS Commission President on 1st March 2012.

The 48th Ordinary Session of the Authority of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government held on Thursday 17 December 2015 in Abuja, Nigeria allocated the post of ECOWAS Commission President to Bénin for the period : March 2016 to February 2018.

Benin has just appointed Marcel de Souza to take over from Kadré Désiré Ouédraogo.

Share on :

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linkedin Youtube Instgram