Twitter Facebook Youtube
ECOWAS Commission President Accredits Four Ambassadors, Pledges Greater Cooperation
 DSC_0114The ECOWAS Commission president His Excellency Marcel de Souza has pledged greater cooperation with the diplomatic Missions accredited to the Commission towards the realization of the integration goals of the Community.

President de Souza gave the pledge on the 15th of June 2016 at the ECOWAS Commission in Abuja while receiving letters of credence from four ambassadors to Nigeria who are also concurrently accredited to ECOWAS.

The President’s Pledge is coming at a time when the sustenance of the excellent relations between ECOWAS and the development Partners have become pertinent towards the continuous nurturing and entrenchment of peace, stability and economic advancement in the region.

The ambassadors were H.E Stephane De Loecker (Kingdom of Belgium), H.E Dr. Gabor Ternak (Republic of Hungary), H.E Paul Lehmann (Australia), and H.E Haja Afsatu Olayinka Ebishola Kabba (Republic of Sierra Leone)

Conferring with the envoys separately after they were reciprocally handed the ECOWAS acknowledgement seals, President de Souza welcomed them warmly to the Commission while expressing the constant readiness of ECOWAS Commission and institutions to cooperate with them towards the accomplishment of their Mission in Abuja.

Expressing the gratitude of the Commission to the countries for their support and for having a set of shared values with ECOWAS, the President said ECOWAS is also willing to share experiences with the respective countries.

He harped on the need to take forward some of the integration projects and programmes particularly in the area of energy, transport and agriculture.

The ambassadors in their various responses expressed sincere thanks to President de Souza for the audience, the privilege of partaking in the symbolic ceremony  and restated the desire of their countries to continue to partner ECOWAS in specific as well as general areas where intervention is needed.

TThe President was supported in audience by the Vice President of the Commission H.E Edward Singhatey and senior officials of the Commission which included the Director of Cabinet Ambassador Abel Agbebleo, the Acting Director, External Relations Mr. Jerome Boa, Principal Programme Officer Mrs Benita Tar and Legal Adviser Obii Onuoha.

DSC_0049 DSC_0145 PIC. 1

Share on :

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linkedin Youtube Instgram